Bubblybrunette's Blog

Bubbles, burlesque and all things fancy

The Courtesan’s Curriculum

leave a comment »

I’m finally getting started on my next (and long-imagined) project – The Courtesan Curriculum.

I’ve been fascinated by courtesans for a long time. They were women with power during times when women had no rights. Men fought over them, lavished fortunes on them and created incredible works of art in their honor. They had freedom and autonomy that was unheard of for women in their eras. And they captivated most who met them.

Courtesans, as they were, no longer exist. And, in this day and age, women no longer need to use men to gain power. But I’ve long believed that the these women still have something to offer us today.

My dream is to put together a multi-week workshop to help teach the courtesans’ secrets to women who want to re-ignite the spark in their lives – not just in their relationships, but within themselves. Because, ultimately, our truest seduction is with our own spirit. Then, using what I learn from working with women in these workshops, I’d eventually like to write a book.

I’ve already seen glimmers of it with my burlesque students – and it’s no surprise, since body confidence is one of the first secrets. But each week, they stand a little taller, their eyes seem a little brighter and the spark in them re-ignites. They tell me stories of buying beautiful lingerie for the first time or surprising a partner with an intimate dance, and their whole being lights up. It’s wonderful to see! But I think I can offer them so much more.

I’m excited to see where this takes me.

Written by bubblybrunette

January 17, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

