Bubblybrunette's Blog

Bubbles, burlesque and all things fancy

Holiday bubbles

leave a comment »

So the blog has been a little heavy on the burlesque as of late, and quite light on the bubbles. I’ll attempt to remedy that today. I found this picture on my iPhone that I took right after Christmas. These little beauties were my Birthday/Christmas/New Year’s present to myself:

My holiday haul of bubbles

The Tasting Room had their annual half-off champagne sale, so (using the birthday money I got from my parents) I stocked up with 6 bottles. By the time I got to TTR, they were running pretty low on supplies, but I managed to get a bottle of Schramsberg Brut Rosé, Pommery Brut Grand Cru, Perrier-Jouet Cuvee Fleur de Champagne 1999, and three bottles of Heidsieck Monopole Blue Top. They were all delicious (it’s hard to go wrong with good champagne/sparkling wine), but I have to admit that the two most expensive bottles, the Pommery and the Perrier-Jouet ended up being my least favorite of the group.

I think the Perrier-Jouet, which I drank on New Year’s Eve was almost too delicate for my taste. I prefer yeasty, full-bodied champagnes and salmon-hued blanc de noirs. While ethereally beautiful, the Perrier-Jouet just didn’t have as much heft as I would have liked. The Pommery was lighter as well and ventured a little too far into the citrus territory for my liking.

On the other hand, I was really pleasantly surprised by the Schramsberg Brut Rosé. It was nicely astringent and had a rich flavor that was obviously influenced by the wonderful Pinot Noir grapes grown in the northern California coastal region. I would definitely go for this one again. And already having tried (and loved) the Blue Top, I savored all three bottles. The beautiful little bubbles, creamy texture and rich, yeasty taste make this one of my all-time favorites. I could very happily drink this every day. And one day, in my perfect world, I will 😉

Cheers!

Written by bubblybrunette

January 19, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

