Bubblybrunette's Blog

Bubbles, burlesque and all things fancy

Preparing for my first show

with one comment

This is where I'll be on Saturday (I'm Grace, BTW).

This Saturday will be my first chance to perform burlesque for an audience. I’m still not quite sure how I managed to get asked to participate, but there was no way I could turn it down! The show is produced by the Jigglewatts of Austin and is a tribute to pin-up icon, Bettie Page.

I’ll be performing a classic black-dress-and-satin-gloves striptease to Ruth Brown’s “5-10-15 Hours” – a sweet little early rock song from the mid-fifties (Bettie’s era). I had originally contemplated going with something flashier, but to my mind the Vegas showgirl style just didn’t seem very “Bettie.” I’ll save the red sequins for another day.

I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to get my first performance under my (garter) belt, pay tribute to an icon AND meet some of the lovely ladies of the Texas burlesque scene. What a fantastic way to start the year 🙂

Written by bubblybrunette

January 14, 2010 at 4:35 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ll do just fine darling! We’re excited to have you. See you soon! xoxo

    Ruby Joule

    January 14, 2010 at 6:48 pm


Leave a Reply

